Janez Janša®

In 2007, three Slovenian artists joined the conservative Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) and officially changed their names to Janez Janša. While they renamed themselves for personal reasons, the boundaries between their lives and their art began to blur in numerous and unforeseen ways. The catalogue of Janez Janša® – the anthological exhibition curated by Domenico Quaranta and presented in 2017 at the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova (+MSUM) in Ljubljana – presents a comprehensive selection of works and projects produced by Janez Janša, Janez Janša and Janez Janša over the last ten years – most of them arising as collateral effects of the name change or other life events related to it. The publication raises some universal questions about identity in the age of biopolitics and about art in the age of information, and it casts the Janšas’ story into the future by announcing the registration of the Janez Janša name as a trademark for the next ten years.


Janez Janša®
Edited by: Janez Janša
Texts: Domenico Quaranta
Graphic design and layout: Luka Umek
224 pp. English, 5.83 x 8.26 in
Perfect-bound paperback, full color
Printed and distributed by: Lulu.com
ISBN 978-961-93930-7-9
Published in the occasion of the exhibitions Janez Janša® curated by Domenico Quaranta, +MSUM – Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova, Ljubljana, 2017


Domenico Quaranta is a contemporary art critic and curator. His work focuses on the impact of the current means of production and dissemination on the arts, and on the way they respond – syntactically and semantically – to the technological shift. He is a frequent collaborator with several magazines and reviews, including Flash Art, Artpulse and Rhizome. The author of In My Computer (2011), Beyond New Media Art (2013) and AFK. Texts on Artists 2011 – 2016 (2016), he has contributed to, edited or co-edited a number of books and catalogues, including GameScenes. Art in the Age of Videogames (2006) and THE F.A.T. MANUAL (2013). Since 2005 he has curated and co-curated many exhibitions, including Holy Fire. Art of the Digital Age (2008); RE:akt! (2009 – 2010); Playlist (2009 – 2010); Collect the WWWorld (2011 – 2012); Unoriginal Genius (2014) and Cyphoria (2016). He lectures internationally and teaches “Interactive Systems” at the Accademia di Carrara. He is a co-founder of the Link Art Center, Brescia.